Jump to content


Friends, we are happy to invite you to our NEW Global Kaspersky Club! Please follow this link www.kasperskyclub.com , sign-in and enjoy our new platform!


Photo
- - - - -

Is this correct ?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 norwegian

norwegian

    Frequent poster

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1097 posts

Posted 19 February 2007 - 03:43 PM

Just noticed this and wondering if it is true.

http://www.activevir...maint_redir.adp

#2 comRace

comRace

    Young Gun

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts

Posted 19 February 2007 - 03:56 PM

maybe they'll implement an online scanner using McAfeee engine

#3 norwegian

norwegian

    Frequent poster

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1097 posts

Posted 19 February 2007 - 04:14 PM

I was, and never will be an AOL user, but if they are knocking this software over for McAfee, I WILL not being to look at AOL. Did I say that already. :(

#4 TonyW

TonyW

    Veteran

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 188 posts

Posted 26 February 2007 - 07:35 PM

This looks like it's something for AOL members. The AOL AVS free anti-virus is for anyone I believe.

#5 Whizard

Whizard

    Professional

  • Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 454 posts

Posted 02 March 2007 - 05:52 AM

Hard to predict whatever AOL is doing. It might also be an old page :help:
Networking and Security Guru
~^Whizard^~

#6 SGear

SGear

    Newbie

  • Gold Beta Tester
  • 16 posts

Posted 08 March 2007 - 01:13 AM

I was, and never will be an AOL user, but if they are knocking this software over for McAfee, I WILL not being to look at AOL. Did I say that already. :)

In the Uk Talk talk and AOL have merged, dont know what its like downunder, here people used to say AOLHELL. :)
Steve SGear

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Testing Machine 1 -> Fresh install XPHome Bedding in on Kis7
Testing Machine 2 -> Fresh Vista Install Kis 7.0.1.325 waiting for next B/Alpha V8
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Machine 1 AMD Athlon™ XP 3200+ Radion 9600 Pro 1Gb Ram 80Gb HD
Machine 2 AMD Athlon XP 2800+, Radeon 9700 PRO, 1024Mb, Twin HD
All HD interchangeable between machines for checking via HD Caddies.

#7 norwegian

norwegian

    Frequent poster

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1097 posts

Posted 09 March 2007 - 01:03 AM

I was, and never will be an AOL user, but if they are knocking this software over for McAfee, I WILL not being to look at AOL. Did I say that already. :lool:

In the Uk Talk talk and AOL have merged, dont know what its like downunder, here people used to say AOLHELL. :)


Don't know of anyone with grey matter upstairs that does use this product. I was thinking with Kaspersky as the engine it might be worth looking at for some of the more carefree, click any email type.

Personally I'm glad Eugene is so pro-active on spyware. We are all gaining from it.

Glad he is on our side.

#8 Sjoeii

Sjoeii

    Kaspersky Club Project Manager

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4591 posts

Posted 13 March 2007 - 09:37 AM

AOL is just not knowing what they are doing.
they really mess up a lot of things. but McAfee?????
http://twitter.com/kaspersky_club

#9 danieleb

danieleb

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 22 March 2007 - 02:20 AM

It might be an old page. It seems as AOL was in business mcaffee before changing to kav.

Article is dated 10/28/04
http://www.technewsw...tory/37697.html

#10 norwegian

norwegian

    Frequent poster

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1097 posts

Posted 25 March 2007 - 04:24 AM

It might be an old page. It seems as AOL was in business mcaffee before changing to kav.

Article is dated 10/28/04
http://www.technewsw...tory/37697.html


Thanks for pointing that out danieleb, never used the service.

#11 Whizard

Whizard

    Professional

  • Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 454 posts

Posted 25 March 2007 - 07:44 AM

Who would in their right state of mind use them anyways :)
Networking and Security Guru
~^Whizard^~

#12 ccasper

ccasper

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 27 March 2007 - 02:43 AM

maybe they'll implement an online scanner using McAfeee engine


Shortly before I left AOL, they had signed a deal with McAfee to push their products. I was working at the Virus Information Center (keyword Virus) back then. It was not pleasant to be told that we WOULD be telling everyone to switch to McAfee when all the techs knew McAfee was having issues. Up to and including bricking hard drives when cleaning boot sector viruses.

Not sure if they still have a deal or not with McAfee, but I left shortly after tech support became an extension of their sales/marketting department.

#13 Sjoeii

Sjoeii

    Kaspersky Club Project Manager

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4591 posts

Posted 28 March 2007 - 09:12 AM

I believe that AOL have several security products. One has KAV and one has McAfee
http://twitter.com/kaspersky_club