Jump to content


Friends, we are happy to invite you to our NEW Global Kaspersky Club! Please follow this link www.kasperskyclub.com , sign-in and enjoy our new platform!


Photo
- - - - -

Linux


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#16 Ph03n1x

Ph03n1x

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 12 December 2006 - 12:00 AM

so in the near future i will take a look at gentoo and debian (always wanted to test those, but was limited by the internet and now by time :) )


Yes gentoo is really good but is hard to install and use. Good Luck ;)

#17 Jingtian

Jingtian

    Frequent poster

  • Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1236 posts

Posted 14 December 2006 - 12:52 PM

I downloaded KNOPPIX.3.6. ISO, which can be used without installation. I will give it a shot sometime.

#18 FadeToBlack

FadeToBlack

    The Hitman

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 137 posts

Posted 26 December 2006 - 09:05 PM

Knoppix is at version 4 right now.
Regards,
Michael

#19 Jingtian

Jingtian

    Frequent poster

  • Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1236 posts

Posted 10 January 2007 - 04:11 PM

The latest version of Knoppix is V5.0.1.

#20 FadeToBlack

FadeToBlack

    The Hitman

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 137 posts

Posted 23 January 2007 - 12:05 AM

You're right, my mistake. I have had it for a long time on my HDD and never used it.
Regards,
Michael

#21 Jingtian

Jingtian

    Frequent poster

  • Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1236 posts

Posted 23 January 2007 - 08:23 AM

In fact, it has been updated again, and the latest version is 5.1.1.

#22 Patrik

Patrik

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 24 January 2007 - 08:15 AM

I'm new to Linux also and I'm trying Ubunto now, seems like a nice little OS, running smooth on my sytem and easy to use.


Can you run 2 diffrent linux systems and Win XP on the same harddrive? if you partiton it?

I would like to compere Fedora and Ubunto and still be able to load my WIn XP.

#23 Lucian Bara

Lucian Bara

    Jedi Master

  • Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 912 posts

Posted 24 January 2007 - 11:55 AM

yes, you can even keep using the same swap space. (the root partition has to be different of course)
Intel Core 2 Duo E4500 @ 2,2GHz, Msi Asus P5PL2-E, 2048MB-DDR2 (2*1024), Leadtek PX6600 256MB, Teac DV-W516GA, Leadtek tv2000 xp Expert, HDD 200GB*2 (sata/sata2)

#24 Patrik

Patrik

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 24 January 2007 - 10:07 PM

yes, you can even keep using the same swap space. (the root partition has to be different of course)


great, guess my weekend is booked!