Friends, we are happy to invite you to our NEW Global Kaspersky Club! Please follow this link www.kasperskyclub.com , sign-in and enjoy our new platform!

Photo
- - - - -

PC Access

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 dustime

dustime

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 27 July 2007 - 12:39 AM

I am a senior, nearly 77 and basically self taught via mags, books and errors; so please bear with me and thanks to all.
My question: "My pc is still active after shutting down".
I just had Windows xp 64 bit installed and my prior security suite did not support it so I am trying Kaspersky.
Also my previous OS was not installed correctly, perhaps this was the reason my Pc remained inactive after shutting down and not because I had another security suite installed.
Any help?

Dustime

#2 norwegian

norwegian

Frequent poster

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1097 posts

Posted 27 July 2007 - 01:54 AM

Welcome dustime.

Can I ask why you installed x64 bit ? It really isn't a very well supported O/S.

As for why it is still running after shutting down. This usually is caused by a conflict of some sort.
Maybe if you look at what is starting up when first turning on the computer.

Start-run-type in 'msconfig'

The startup tab should tell you
Maybe look at turning off everything that isn't important first may help, to see if it is a conflict there.

#3 dustime

dustime

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 27 July 2007 - 09:02 AM

Welcome dustime.

Can I ask why you installed x64 bit ? It really isn't a very well supported O/S.

As for why it is still running after shutting down. This usually is caused by a conflict of some sort.
Maybe if you look at what is starting up when first turning on the computer.

Start-run-type in 'msconfig'

The startup tab should tell you
Maybe look at turning off everything that isn't important first may help, to see if it is a conflict there.

Hello Norwegian,